Royal honour for C.H. Wantenaar

25 April 2008

Kees Wantenaar, Chairman of the Board/Supervisory Board of the dairy co-operative Campina, was today awarded the title Companion of the Order of Oranje-Nassau.

Mr Wantenaar (59), who lives in Soest (The Netherlands), has for many years been active in the development and further consolidation of the co-operative ideal and the concept of co-operative entrepreneurship. In addition to his role as Chairman of Campina, Kees Wantenaar also holds positions at Rabobank and on a number of co-operative and dairy organisations. He was presented with the Order by the Mayor of Soest, Mr Noordergraaf.

Jan Uijttewaal, Vice-Chairman of the Board/Supervisory Board of Campina, expressed his delight at the news. “Kees Wantenaar has always shown tireless commitment to the interests of dairy farmers, and continues to do so with complete conviction, in the clear belief that a strong co-operative company will support their long-term interests. His dedication, perseverance and leadership as chairman makes a major contribution to the interests of dairy farmers.”

“Kees Wantenaar was also a member of the Executive Board of Campina’s legal predecessors. As Vice-Chairman of the Board and Supervisory Board of Campina Melkunie and later of Campina, he made a key contribution to the structuring and positioning of today’s dairy co-operative. His record of combining responsibility for an international co-operative representing farmers in the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium with the chairmanship of a company with a global turnover of EUR 4 billion is exceptional. For this, he deserves all due respect.’

Since 2001, Kees Wantenaar has been Chairman of the Executive Board of the co-operative Campina u.a. and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Campina BV. In addition to his main role at Campina, he also holds a number of unpaid secondary posts. He is Chairman of Centraal Organisatie Superheffing (the Central Superlevy Organisation in The Netherlands), a Member of the Board of the Dutch National Co-operative Council, a Member of the Board of the Dutch Dairy Association (NZO), a Member of the Board of the Dutch Dairy Board (Productschap Zuivel), Chairman of the NZO Sustainable Milk Production Committee and a Member of the Board of Rabobank Soest-Baarn-Eemnes.