FrieslandCampina appoints new cooperative board member and supervisory board members

26 September 2019

On the recommendation of the board of Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina, the Members’ Council of the dairy cooperative appointed Ms. Elze Jellema member of the cooperative board at its meeting held on 25 September 2019. Her appointment comes into effect from 17 December this year and she also joins the supervisory board of Royal FrieslandCampina N.V. At the same time, Angelien Kemna and Heiko Schipper will join the supervisory board of Royal FrieslandCampina N.V. They will fill the vacancies that have arisen following the resignation of Ben van der Veer and Tex Gunning after respectively 10 and eight years.

Chairman Frans Keurentjes: “On behalf of all board members, I warmly welcome Elze Jellema to our board. We know her as a committed, and critical in a positive sense, dairy farmer with an eye for the interests of members and the environment in which both the cooperative and business operate. We also welcome Angelien Kemna and Heiko Schipper who bring decades of international business experience to our Supervisory Board.”

In June the Members’ Council reappointed Hans Stöcker for a new term of 4 years commencing on 17 December. 

Elze Jellema was a member of the Members’ Council of the dairy cooperative up to and including 2018 and represented the district of southwest Friesland in that capacity. She has a dairy farm in Smallebrugge, southwest Friesland, the Netherlands.

Angelien Kemna has had a career in asset management and has held CIO and CFO/CRO positions at APG group. Before that she was CEO of ING Investment Management Europe and held academic professorships in finance and governance, among other things. Ms. Kemna also holds several non-executive and advisory positions, e.g. at NIBC Holding and AXA Group.

Heiko Schipper has broad experience in international marketing and sales of nutrition goods. He has held various marketing and sales executive positions at Nestlé in Europe and Asia. His last position was CEO of Nestlé Nutrition and member of the executive board of Nestlé SA. He is currently president of Bayer Consumer Health and member of the board of management of Bayer AG.

With these appointments the supervisory board will comprise four female and nine male members, thereby meeting its diversity policy to have at least 30% of each gender represented in the board.

From left to right: Elze Jellema, Heiko Schipper and Angelien Kemna