Sjoerd Galema and Hans Stöcker have been appointed members of the Board/Supervisory Board of FrieslandCampina

15 June 2011

Sjoerd Galema (48, Dutch national) and Hans Stöcker (47, German national) have been appointed by the Members’ Council of the dairy cooperative Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina U.A. as members of the Board of the Cooperative, and as such, as members of the Supervisory Board of Royal FrieslandCampina N.V.

Sjoerd Galema and Hans Stöcker are filling the vacancies left by Jorrit Jorritsma and Kees Wantenaar, who are retiring from the Board by rotation and are not eligible for reappointment.
On 15 June 2011, the Members’ Council of FrieslandCampina resolved to appoint Sjoerd Galema and Hans Stöcker as members of the Board of Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina U.A. They will take up their appointments with effect from 14 December 2011 and will also join the Supervisory Board of Royal FrieslandCampina N.V. on the same day.

Sjoerd Galema and his wife run a dairy farm in Hartwerd (Friesland). Mr. Galema has held various Board positions in dairy organisations and since 2007, he has been a member of the Provincial Executive of the Province of Friesland. He will shortly be resigning from this position.
Hans Stöcker has a dairy farm in Engelskirchen (Nordrhein-Westfalen). He is currently chairman of the Rheinland/Bergisches Land district of Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina U.A. Mr. Stöcker held various Board positions at FrieslandCampina’s legal predecessors. He is also currently chairman of the dairy sector organisation, Landesvereinigung für die Milchwirtschaft Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Dairy cooperative and dairy company
Just over 14,000 member dairy farmers in the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium are members of the dairy cooperative Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina U.A. Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina U.A. holds all the shares in the company Royal FrieslandCampina N.V. The Board of Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina is a full part of the Supervisory Board of  FrieslandCampina. In addition to these nine members from the Board, the Supervisory Board has four external members.

The Members’ Council of Zuivelcoöperatie FrieslandCampina U.A., which consists of 210 representatives chosen by the member dairy farmers, appoints the Board Members on the binding nomination of the Cooperative Council. The Cooperative Council consists of the chairmen of the 21 districts of the Cooperative. This appointment is prepared by a selection committee, based on an open application procedure for the member dairy farmers.
Read more about the selection procedure on the corporate website > about us > Cooperative and Farmers > Structure of Cooperative > Board